When One Door Closes…

When one door closes…

I am in the final stretch of my university career and I do not think I have ever been so nervous for the future as I am right now. I am closing the door on the past seventeen years of my life and opening a new one that has no true path leading from it. Yes, I have plans for the next year, but after that I have no idea where my life is heading. This is the first time that I am experiencing this, as my next years were always school, school and more school. Now, that is no longer the case.

I am not exactly transitioning gently into the next stage of my life either. By the end of the summer I will pack up and relocate my entire life to England. It is here that I will start my first grown up job and become part of the adult work world. I no longer will have a part-time job to pay for my alcohol, but a real job in my field that will give me a real salary.

I think the apprehension I am feeling of late is that I am starting the new chapter completely isolated from my family. While I lived eighteen hours away from them while I was at university, now there will be an ocean and a time difference in between us. Gone are the quick calls to ask my parents a simple question. I will be on my own. Do not get me wrong I am very excited for this next chapter of my life, but as with all new things, there is always going to be a sense of nervousness and apprehension.

I am writing this blog, after a few failed attempts, to not only keep my family and friends at home updated, but also as a form of writing therapy, to write about my experiences and how they affect my life.

…another door opens.

Leave a Reply

