The Stresses of Uncertainty

on

I am a planner. Always have been. I also ways have a plan in mind and am always extremely organized. When things change, I can adapt from my plan but I need to have one in place.

My future plan is moving to England, however there are many unanswered questions and gaps in this plan. Mind you that this move is not happening until August, but I still have yet to figure out where I will be living, where I will be working and most importantly what grade I will be teaching. I have faith that in the next few months these gaps will start to fill themselves in, but the uncertainty, the not knowing and the what if’s have begun to stress me out.

I am fully ready to take this next step, but I keep seeing the timeline shrinking and the worrying is starting to become more intense by the week. It is moments like this, when I realize this uncertainty and stress, that I need to take a step back. I tend to work myself up for no reason and place obscene amounts of pressure on myself. So moving into this new phase of my life, finishing up school and entering the work world, I am going to try to let go of my need to plan every detail of my life. I want to become more spontaneous and open to new adventures that I would not necessarily think about without planning it. By dropping the need to excessively plan my life, I want to be able to go out and enjoy every minute of it, get rid of the excess stress.

I want to make myself a promise, to go with the flow, take things as they come and stop worrying about things that are beyond my control.

 

Leave a Reply

